© Sara Gardner
Pierrot lunaire
Yale School of Music, Michael Friedmann
Lecture recital
Arnold Schönberg Center
Friday, 12 January 2024
6.30 pm
© Sara Gardner

Ria Honda violin
Julia Hwang violin/viola
Jakyoung Huh violoncello
Jarrett May flute/piccolo
Nikki Pet clarinet, bass clarinet
Max Hammond piano
Zihan Wu piano
Juliet Papadopoulos Sprechgesang
Michael Friedmann direction and introduction

Alban BERG Vier Stücke für Klarinette und Klavier op. 5
Anton WEBERN Vier Stücke für Violine und Klavier op. 7
Arnold SCHÖNBERG Pierrot lunaire op. 21

Free admission

This concert results from a seminar at the Yale University School of Music spent in relating the analysis of “Pierrot lunaire” to its performance. Intensive rehearsals have been reinforced by equally intensive analytic study of the score. The brief groups of miniatures by Berg and Webern, composed within two years of “Pierrot” supplement the program. They serve to illustrate the shared aesthetic goals shared by Schönberg and his two most famous students.

Event in English language

The concert will be streamed live on facebook and YouTube and will be available seven days after the concert.

Cooperation with Yale University School of Music