Orpheus-Ensemble-Wien © Christoph Holy
à trois, seul et à quatre
Arnold Schönberg Center
Monday, 23 October 2023
6.30 pm
Orpheus-Ensemble-Wien © Christoph Holy

   Christina Neubauer violin
   Martin Kraushofer viola
   Eva Landkammer violoncello
   Elisabeth Aigner-Monarth piano

Karlheinz ESSL à trois – seul for violin, viola, cello; Prends le Fa for piano solo
Arnold SCHÖNBERG String Trio op. 45
Frank BRIDGE Phantasy for Piano Quartet in f-Moll

Tickets € 14 | Free admission for persons under 26 years
Online reservation

A string trio removes a middle voice from the classical four-part texture and thus requires a creative compositional approach. Karlheinz Essl explores various musical constellations in his pieces – solo, in pairs, or the full ensemble, always meandering between possibilities. This contrasts with Schönberg’s weighty late work, conceived while the composer was seriously ill, and Frank Bridge’s expansive Phantasy for Piano Quartet, in which the piano enlarges the soundscape.

5.30 pm: Curator’s tour with Eike Feß
through the exhibition “Composition with Twelve Tones. Schönberg’s Reorganization of Music” (reservation required)

The concert will be streamed live on facebook and YouTube and will be available seven days after the concert.

By clicking the button below, you accept our terms and conditions.