Kaoko Amano © Maria Frodl; Eva Teimel © Stephan Polzer
Klassiker der Moderne
Members of the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra, Amano, Teimel
Lecture recital
Arnold Schönberg Center
Tuesday, 17 January 2023
6.30 pm
Kaoko Amano © Maria Frodl; Eva Teimel © Stephan Polzer

Members of the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra
   Marianna Oczkowska violin
   Raffael Dolezal violoncello
   Jaime Wolfson piano
Kaoko Amano soprano
Eva Teimel presentation

György KURTÁG Kafka-Fragmente op. 24 (selection)
Arnold SCHÖNBERG Phantasy for Violin with Piano Accompaniment op. 47
Beat FURRER Retour an dich
Jaime WOLFSON Eterna V (WP)

Tickets € 14 | Free admission for persons under 26 years
Online reservation

Schönberg’s “Phantasy,” op. 47 has triggered many debates on whether row deviations are the composer’s artistic will or merely due to mistakes. Based on analyses and an intensive study of the sources, the performers in today’s evening recital present their own version that aims to come close to the intentions of the composer. Schönberg’s highly virtuoso work is combined with compositions by György Kurtág and Beat Furrer which open up entirely different musical worlds despite their contemporaneity, and also the premiere of a work by the Vienna-based Mexican composer Jaime Wolfson.

Cooperation Arnold Schönberg Center, Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra and RadioKulturhaus
As part of the chamber music series of the RSO Vienna “Aus nächster Nähe”

The concert will be broadcast on January 26, 2023 at 7.30 pm on the program "Das Ö1 Konzert."